Uncategorized

Inspirational Devotion

By Katrina

I was struck with these words from the mouth of God this morning as I was reading through the book of Jeremiah: “I will give them singleness of heart and action, so that they will always fear me for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me so that they will never turn away from me” (32:39-40).

Have you ever thought about God INSPIRING you to follow Him?! What a great word to use! This word, for humans, is life giving – it is the difference between just existing and thriving in life. That’s what we all want: inspiration. We want to work toward things that we are passionate about. And, one thing I love about this generation is that this generation is not just ok with going to work day in and day out. They want to have a higher calling; be part of something bigger than themselves. And, that, dear sisters, is the attitude that changes the world! When we are inspired, it moves our work from mediocre to excellence. This is something that I missed in my high school years into my college years. I wasn’t asking God to INSPIRE my life work, and as a result, I struggled to find my place for years (and, quite honestly, I’m still searching but I am much closer).

For the past 5 years I have been working multiple jobs, not staying anywhere longer than 2 years. And, after awhile, that lifestyle is very frustrating and exhausting. My work was not my passion. But, when I began surrendering everything- even where I would live as well as my finances- God brought me to amazing places and I have gotten to do so many things that I would never have thought for myself.

Ladies, the point of being on this earth is to prepare you to be in Heaven with our Heavenly Father forever. We are here to be perfected, shaped and molded into women that live out of an eternal perspective. And to the world, that looks very weird. In my case, I reached the point of exhaustion last March, and with my 4 jobs that I was trying to handle as well as a social life, my biggest mistake was letting my time with the Lord go. And you cannot survive very long in this state. I opened my Bible one night to Ezekiel 12:21-28 and read, “Son of man, what is this proverb you have in the land of Israel, ‘The days go by and every vision comes to nothing?’ Say to them, ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says: I am going to put an end to this proverb, and they will no longer quote it in the land of Israel. Say to them the days are near when every vision will be fulfilled.” At this point I felt God say to me, “This is for you!” Before things come into being, God announces them to us, and I did not fully recognize it at the time, but for over a year God had been preparing me for this season to come. And not soon after that every responsibility I had started ending- some I naturally let go of and some naturally ended.

I went through a time of stripping away, and I grieved losing everything- my purpose, my friends in Kansas City, the town that I loved so much, the place where I was living, and a relationship. I moved in with family for a season to figure things out, and in that moment I realized how spiritually, emotionally and physically drained I really was. It has been 4 months now, and God has still kept me in this place of rest and renewal. It has been wonderful to spend so much quiet time with the Lord. I have read and meditated on God’s word a lot, listened to sermons and enjoyed the rest. I listened to a sermon about waiting on the Lord, and something this pastor said struck me. He said, “We can’t handle what God wants to do for us without renewing. We can’t handle the way God wants to use us without going into waiting upon the Lord, renewal, and including some fasting.”

Inspiration does not come easily when we are so tired and drained that we cannot give one more ounce. That is not God’s will for our lives to live that way! Inspiration comes from resting, meditating and having “empty space” in our lives to let our minds wander and dream. God will NEVER stop doing good to us, and he wants to INSPIRE us to live a life that fears the Lord! Can you think of any higher calling than that?

One thought on “Inspirational Devotion

Leave a Reply

